‘The Homing Pigeons’ by Sid Bahri

I was grinning with glee as I read Margaret Atwood echoing my sentiments in her ‘Curious Pursuits‘  (sounds quite pompous, I know, but then what the heck!)

“I don’t review books I don’t like, although to do so would doubtless be amusing for the Ms Hyde side of me and entertaining for the more malicious class of reader. But either the book is really bad, in which case no one should review it, or it’s good but not my cup of tea, in which case someone else should review it.”

But then, when you have willingly agreed to review a book, one has to set aside certain principles and go ahead and do what you are supposed to.

The Homing Pigeons Cover okReaders Cosmos  reached out sometime back and asked whether I would be interested in reviewing this book by new author Sid Bahri. As usual, I jumped at the offer, anything…well, almost anything, for a free book is my motto. Little did I know this would be the second disappointment in a row.

Aditya and Radhika are childhood sweethearts who meet , greet and separate at different points in their lives. As the curtains go up, its been a year since Aditya has lost his job to recession and he has just drunk his last rupee down his drains.  Radhika, who is just 31 (or is it 33, anyway),  is found marrying off her step daughter so that she can finally be free of  her super rich dead husband’s ‘will’ful diktats. The story goes up and down between the two lover’s lives, from childhood, school, work , (college part is negligible since the two aren’t anywhere nearby during that phase), two marriages, a miscarriage, a divorce, a widowhood  and so on and so forth. The title obviously tells you how this is all going to end.

 The story line sounded interesting and the most of the reviews said ‘fabulous’, so I was expecting a riveting tale that would just not hold but grip my attention. The reality, was another story altogether.

The chapters alternated between the two protagonist’s lives. To give the author credit where it is due, the book held my interest till about the first one third part.  Then , chapters started getting shorter and stopping like the episodes of a saas bahu serial – nothing much and a feeling of what the heck!

Radhika’s life especially sounded too far fetched, what with being born after two boys, then being adopted, returned back, loved, married, divorced, jilted, married again, widowed, massaged… 😉

Verdict – Will not recommend to those who love lovely tales told beautifully, even if they are my enemies

2/5

About wanderlustathome

Dabbling in numbers for a living while dreaming of words all the while.

Posted on November 14, 2013, in 2*, Fiction, Indian Authors, Romance. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Will not recommend to those who love lovely tales told beautifully, even if they are my enemies – Very succinctly put !

  2. I love your review though:)

  3. I enjoyed your review… just one question… isn’t that the beauty of Romance and Romanticism… to be a bit far fetched? When I think of romance I think of endless possibilities creating endless variations of similar desires that engages one’s perspective and broaden’s it for the world to see and enjoy! it entangles the mind in an endless abyss of love and desire… isn’t that why they call it “falling in love”?

    • Oh yes, I agree …as far as romance is concerned. What I didn’t like about the book was how each story was too brief and it had a half finished feeling to it. None of the story lines were fully developed, Radhika’s second marriage summarized in one line that went something like ‘she managed to ensnare a wealthy customer’, sorry, not my cup of tea.
      And how it ended also , too confusing is what I felt, an abrupt end.

  4. granted the story line was a bit jumbled and murky in regards to a unified theme… a bit all over the place if you ask me… too much of a mix of negative and positive energy in regards to the beauty of love in general.

    • Jumbled is the exact word. Too many things happening in too short a time, it had promise though

      • I get aggravated with story lines that give me a sense of excitement to read but tend to leave me deflated with the results… I have to admit that I have started to leave some books unfinished… It happens more when I start to see the holes in the plot and the lack of depth… I only continued to read this book because it was so all over the place… I had to see how it would end but you are correct; the ending left me deflated… yes its promise was partly the only reason I kept reading!

      • I continued because I had to review it 🙂

  5. Uh oh. Too bad it did not work out for you. I guess, the torture is when you ahve to read it out of compulsion – that feels like doing so much injustice to what we love doing.

    And wait a minute! Massage??

  6. Could you please tell me the exact page number where this “Massaging” part is? Maybe after reading that, I might get a good sleep 😉

Leave a Reply

