‘Mrs. Funnybones’ by Twinkle Khanna

image

Are you one of those who have always believed Rajesh Khanna’s and Dimple Kapadia’s first off spring could not act even if her life depended on it? Let me admit, I was one of those. To add insult to injury I even thought she was one of those dumb star kids. And then, she disappeared from the silver screen into the arms of a chef turned action hero from Hong Kong (originally from Punjab). The next we heard she was busy spreading the aroma of scented candles and ornate furniture. Until one fine day, she started writing. Or, to put it in the right perspective, her writings start getting published. The stereotype that I am, again typecast her as one of those over rated star wives. Mea culpa.

It’s been more than one year since I’ve started reading her columns and I’ve only grown to like her writing more and more. Contemporary topics talked about in the tone of a light banter and with an impeccable sense of tongue in cheek humor has become her trademark. She doesn’t spare anyone, most of all, her family and herself. The book is no different.

The best part about the book is the fact that she writes about things that she is most comfortable with and those she can relate to. No pontification from the roof, nor is it malicious. The characters are very familiar, after all  many of them are stars in their own right. Her mother, the charming Dimple is portrayed as someone whose only purpose in life is to rededorate her daughter’s home, every day, if possible. The husband, lovingly referred to as ‘the man of the house’ is this food loving, macho Punjabi who lives this funnily dangerous life. One is left chuckling on remembering it is in fact the action hero, Akshay Kumar, that she is talking about.

What connected with me is the sheer simplicity of her language and the down to earth approach she seems to have towards life. We also realize there is a sharp brain that is churning out these words. And this is corroborated as she mentions a certified IQ of 145. The manner in which she presents her achievements takes the ‘brag’ element out of it. ’97 marks in Maths and 97 kilos in weight,’ as she puts it.

Theirs is one of the long standing marriages in Bollywood. And it appears to be going strong after more than 15 years. No wonder. The guy knew a good thing when he saw her. Well done, AK. She Is totally worth it. A girl with super brains and a kiackass sense of humor. Can’t beat that combination.

And I sincerely apologize for judging people based on almost nothing. Twinkle, may your stars turn brighter. (bad joke, I know 😛 )

Verdict : Ignore that vada paav and have her for chai today. Seriously. 

4/5

About wanderlustathome

Dabbling in numbers for a living while dreaming of words all the while.

Posted on August 28, 2015, in 4*, Indian Authors, Life, reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Haha! You really nailed it here! One of the reasons I too was hesitant to read her initially but now I am a fan.
    Will be reading it soon.

  2. That is what we do naturally .. its called discrimination through association. . You can guess I just did my course on euality and diversity 🙂

    I have not read any of the columns or that I knew she wrote all I know is who she is..and yeah she was not that good a actress..:)

    But everyone has a talent and she is proving it for sure.. now I need to go and look and find what talent I have.. I probably am opposite an iq of 0 but a weight of 100+..

    Hellooooo mam how are you. ..

  3. No wonder I too thought the same about her and then I changed a lot on my opinions on her after reading her columns.
    Coming from you…I need to read this book. Keep it for me…I shall borrow and read 😀

  4. I bought the book but still havent picked it up maybe because I am afraid reading a book by an actress but after reading your review, which is very funny and well written by the way, I am going to pick up the book. 🙂

    -Njkinny @Njkinny’s World of Books & Stuff

Leave a Reply

